Photo credit: Rachel Lowe Photography

The Bennett Nieberg Transpoetic Broadside Prize awards a single poem written by a trans poet who has yet to publish their first full-length book. The prize consists of $1,000 USD, 25 limited edition letterpress broadsides of the winning poem, and a feature in the upcoming issue of Gasher Journal. 


Bennett Nieberg (they/them) was a queer Jewish emerging poet pursuing their MFA at Virginia Commonwealth University at the time of their passing in 2021. Their work appears in journals such as  Crabfat Magazine, New Delta Review, The Indianapolis Review, Entropy, Permafrost, Western Humanities Review, Pretty Owl, and Lunch Ticket, among others. They were the editor in chief of the journal What Are Birds? which hosted the original Transpoetic Broadside Prize. Gasher Press honors Bennett’s legacy of social justice and commitment to the literary community with the continuation of the Transpoetic Broadside Prize. 

Meet the judge for 2022


Photo of Kayleb Rae Candrilli taken by Beowulf Sheehan

Kayleb Rae Candrilli is the recipient of a Whiting Award, a PEW fellowship, and of a fellowship from the National Endowment of the Arts. They are the author of Water I Won’t Touch, All the Gay Saints, and What Runs Over. They live in Philadelphia with their partner.

Photo by Beowulf Sheehan

Eligibility and Guidelines


  • This prize is reserved for writers who identify as a trans writer. This may include those who identify as non-binary, genderqueer, agender, trans-masc, trans-femme, bigender, two spirit, gender fluid, or intersex people.

  • Writers cannot yet have published a full-length book of any genre (chapbooks and self-publishing okay).


  • Submit ONLY 1 unpublished poem on any subject/theme with a brief author bio.

  • Do not include any identifying information on the document of the poem. 

  • Limit one submission per writer. You may not edit your piece after its submission. Do not withdraw a submission in order to resubmit. We will disqualify all duplicate submissions.

  • Simultaneous submissions are okay, but please withdraw your submission if it is accepted elsewhere. 


Additional  info:

  • Submissions are open from March 18th to May 18th.

  • This contest is free to submit to. 

  • Preliminary judges are Remi Recchia and Daniel Garcia. A list of semi-finalists will be forwarded to the final judge for the selection of a winner and finalists.

  • The winner and finalists will be announced in July 2022.